top of page

Liberian Dishes

I may have been raised in Boston but, I was born in Liberia; a country with amazing food and to a mother who knows and loves how to cook. I love food and my mom so, it is no surprise that I also love her cooking. I mean, there is nothing better than a home cooked meal, made by your mother.


Since moving to Madrid, I’ve missed eating my mom’s meals and I always (jokingly) tell her to send some in the mail. Today, I am going to tell you guys about some of my favorite Liberian dishes and just how great they are!

 

Rice

Rice is the main dish in Liberia (seriously, its all we eat.) Rice is so popular in our culture, some people will eat it for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. 

- White Rice

White rice is normally the typical dish, that we eat with soup. Soup isn't necessarily "soup" but rather stew, that we pour over the rice.

- Jollof Rice 

Jollof Rice is probably the most popular rice in Africa – not just Liberia. Everyone loves Jollof and it has grown to popularity over the years and become popular in the US. All African countries make them differently and in Liberia, we make ours with vegetables and meat. Its so good!


- Check Rice and Gravy

Check rice and gravy is typically a Liberian dish, where the rice grain is mixed with spinach (which is what makes it green) and you simply eat it with chicken gravy. 


 

Fufu

Fufu is an extremely popular dish in Africa and has also grown international fame like jollof rice. Fufu is sort of like a dough, that can be made with cassava, yams, or with a premed box. You boil it, pound it and roll it into a smooth ball then eat it with soup. Normally, you eat it with your hands and dig in!


 

Soup

Lastly, the soup. As I said earlier, soup is just stew because you don’t eat it alone nor is it super watery and, we eat it with rice and fufu. There are a ton of different soups, all made in their own ways and my favorire one is spinach. 


Spinach is made with spinach, seasonings, chicken and some other vegetables. You boil everything together in a large pot until it all becomes soft and blends together then eat it with white rice.


 

What is your favorite dish? Or do you have a dish that you dream of making? Complete the worksheet below then play the food game and test your knowledge!




 



Unknown Track - Unknown Artist
00:00 / 00:00
bottom of page